Warped Tour at Cruzan Amphitheater … July 21, 2013

This is my third venture into the hell that is Warped Tour. I’ve only started going to these in the last few years as I noticed more and more “metal” like bands on the bills. Warped Tour is a great chance to see many bands over a one day period, which is a double-edged sword. Yes, there are 150+ bands but they only play 30 minute sets. So, this can be a good and bad thing depending on if you really wanna see a whole show. I feel it’s kinda a sneak-peak at what a band is capable of live. Over the years I have seen many bands on Warped Tour then I went out to see their full live shows else where. Anyways, this year there must of been 20 bands I wanted to see. The day started out pretty typical. Extremely hot waiting to get in, extremely hot and humid until about a few hours in and all hellstorm of cold, windy rain hit us for about 1.5 hours. This meant all the bands had to stop and when it resumed the entire schedule was thrown off-kilter and a few bands didn’t even get to perform. I missed out on Woe Is Me who didn’t perform and Silverstein who performed way later then they were supposed to and I didn’t feel like sticking around cause I was exhausted from these conditions from 10am-8pm.

I ended up seeing 10 bands which included: Hawthorne Heights, Oh Sleeper, While She Sleeps, Like Moths To Flames, Sleeping With Sirens, The Amity Affliction, Blessthefall, Defeater, Architects, Upon A Burning Body, The Chariot and I saw part of The Used set too. There were a few other bands I loved but had to miss due to weather, time sets or the fact that I’ve seen them already including: August Burns Red, Chiodos, Bring Me The Horizon, and Memphis May Fire. Out of all the bands I saw, I was most surprised by Blessthefall. They were one of the bands I really wanted to see and they really put on a great interactive, energetic set. The Chariot also kicked ass especially for being the first band on one of the side stages.

Every year I go to Warped Tour I just say I’ll never go again. It’s super hot, humid, sticky, sweaty, dirty, disgusting and overpriced but due to the fact that there are normally somany bands I wanna see, I always end up going again 🙂

Upcoming shows: Very exciting! In September I am going to see Wintersun Sept 3, Rancid Sept 6 and my favorite band Depeche Mode on Sept 15! Then October Sigur Ros..yayz!

RATING: 6/10

Leave a Reply

